The Management Board and Board of Trustees

On 1 January 2008, Lieselotte Orff handed over the chairmanship of the Foundation to the composer and Orff pupil Professor Wilfried Hiller. Professor Wilfried Hiller is a member of the Bavarian Academy of Fine Arts and is active in many honorary positions, such as President of the Bavarian Music Council between 2006 and 2008. For many musicians he is a valued teacher and discussion partner.

In January 2017, Axel Linstädt was appointed managing director, former head of the music department of Bayerischer Rundfunk, head of the BR-Klassik programme section and long-standing artistic director of the ARD International Music Competition. He has been a member of the Board of Trustees of the Carl Orff Foundation since 2007, most recently as Vice Chairman.

Prof. Rainer Kotzian studied "Music and Movement Education" at the Orff Institute of the Mozarteum University in Salzburg and completed further studies in jazz guitar and songwriting. Since 2010 he has been Professor for Elementary Music Pedagogy at the Hochschule für Musik Nürnberg, and since 2011 he has also held the office of Dean of Studies there. Prof. Kotzian is author and editor of Orff-Schulwerk related books, musician and producer.

The Board of Trustees at the Carl Orff Foundation is currently composed of 7 members: 

  • Dr. Peter Hanser-Strecker, publisher of the works of Carl Orff, Schott Music in Mainz
  • Herbert Kirsch, mayor of Dießen am Ammersee
  • Dr. Franzpeter Messmer, Autor, Festivalleiter, Musikwissenschaftler
  • Dr. Thomas Rösch, Director of the Orff Centre Munich – State Institute for Research and Documentation 
  • Dr. Amy Stebbins, Regisseurin, Librettistin, und Theaterwissenschaftlerin
  • Polo Vallejo Ph.D., Music ethnologist, Madrid, Spain
  • Dr. Carsten Wulff, Juristischer Referent beim Bayerischen Rundfunk

The Board of Trustees is assigned the task of advising and supervising the activities of the Management Board and participating in the fulfillment of the statutes relating to the purpose of the foundation.

read more ›››